Community Center Hours in Northwest Seattle

The City Council is currently considering a reduction in funding for community center hours in the Northwest sector of the city from current service levels, despite having the highest average attendance of any sector. The reduction equates to approximately 10 hours per week at one community center. Although the Council has not specified which community center in the Northwest sector should be reduced, community centers at risk include Ballard, Bitter Lake, Green Lake and Loyal Heights.

The City Council will be discussing these changes on Wednesday and voting on Friday. Regardless of which community center you and your family uses, please let the City Council know that you do not want to see a reduction in hours from current levels at your community center or that of your neighbors. Council is offering public comment in Council Chambers at City Hall at the following times:

Wednesday, November 7 at 9:30 a.m.
Friday, November 9 at 9:30 a.m.
 
If you are unable to attend, contact information is below:

Budget Chair Tim Burgess: email tim.burgess@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8806.
Council President Sally Clark: email sally.clark@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8802.
Councilmember Sally Bagshaw: email sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8801.
Councilmember Richard Conlin: email richard.conlin@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8805.
Councilmember Jean Godden: email jean.godden@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8807.
Councilmember Bruce Harrell: email bruce.harrell@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8804.
Councilmember Nick Licata: email nick.licata@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8803.
Councilmember Mike O’Brien: email mike.obrien@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8800.
Councilmember Tom Rasmussen: email tom.rasmussen@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8808.

Thank you for being an involved and engaged member of our community.

Sincerely,

Mike McGinn
Mayor of Seattle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *